Healthy Snack – Yogurt Parfait Cups

Since the advent of the Yoplait cups in the grocery aisle in the ‘80s yogurt has looked to project itself as a health food – a great snack you can feel good about.  Yogurt does have many benefits. Most 6 oz. servings contain about 20% of the DV of calcium.  Varieties with active cultures contain bacteria beneficial to your gastrointestinal system and to prevention of yeast infections (yuck!).

Unfortunately, most also include added sugar or artificial sweeteners.     One of the better choices, Dannon Light ‘n Fit gets only 47% of its calories from sugar due to artificial sweetener that also keeps the calories down to 60. 

I love yogurt but found those packages with the extra sugar didn’t really satisfy.  One reason is the lack of any real fruit.  My solution for a healthy delicious morning snack (this would work for a quick breakfast too) is to prepare my own yogurt cups.  Seriously, it takes about 5 minutes to prep 5 cups for a week. 

Here is the procedure.  I buy a large container of fat-free Greek yogurt.  I don’t have tummy troubles but do workout so I appreciate the extra protein in the Greek yogurt.  Then I use those Ziploc brand 1 cup reusable plastic containers – line then up and plop about ½ cup into each.  Just eyeball it. 

Image

Then I pop the tops on and load them in the refrigerator. 

Image

Meanwhile, I keep frozen fruit – blueberries, mixed berries, strawberries – in a plastic pourable container in the freezer.

Image

In the morning as I pack my lunch, I grab one yogurt and pour in about ½ cup of fruit to fill the container. 

Image

By the time I’m ready for a snack around 10 or 10:30, the fruit is just thawed enough to enjoy and mix in to the yogurt.  For an extra boost, keep some ground flaxseed in your desk and sprinkle on some.  I find that the fruit adds enough sweetness that I don’t need to add any other sweeteners.

The calorie count – about 110 – is less than many 6 oz store bought yogurts but gives you more fiber and antioxidants with the fruit.  I find this satisfies me until lunch. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Snacks and Appetizers

Comments are closed.